Strategic Advisory Board

We have set up a Strategic Advisory Board to provide independent advice, support and challenge to The Skills Imperative 2035 programme team on strategic issues or risks.

The Strategic Advisory Board’s purpose is to act as a sounding board for Jude Hillary, the Principal Investigator, and other programme co-investigators, to advise and provide constructive challenge on approaches to the research, such as overall design, methods, analysis, interpretation, policy application, reporting and dissemination.

This Board is chaired by Mary Curnock Cook, CBE and comprises a mixture of policymakers and policy influencers, employers and industry representatives, education and skills leaders, research and technical experts.

Our Strategic Advisory Board members are:

Mary Curnock Cook CBE (Chair)

Independent Education Expert

Emily Tanner

Programme Head, Education, Nuffield Foundation

Dr Fiona Aldridge

Head of Skills Insight, West Midlands Combined Authority

Tera Allas

Director of Research and Economics, McKinsey & Company

Julia Belgutay

Head of Communications, Media, Marketing and Research, Association of Colleges

Mark Blythe

CEO, Group GTI

Frank Bowley

Head of the Unit for Future Skills, Department for Education

Tammy Fevrier

Deputy Director, Skills, Department for Work and Pensions

Karen Handley

Head of Future Careers, Virgin Media O2

Josh Hillman

Director of Education, Nuffield Foundation

Cheryl Lloyd

Evaluation Lead, Maths Excellence Fund, Purposeful Ventures

Julie McCulloch

Director of Policy, Association of School and College Leaders

Marisol Milsom

Independent Resourcing, Social Value and Workforce Consultant, HR Biscuit Ltd.

Becci Newton

Director, Public Policy Research, Institute for Employment Studies

Olly Newton

Executive Director, The Edge Foundation

Tom Ravenscroft

CEO, Skills Builder Partnership

Robert West

Head of Education & Skills, CBI (Confederation of British Industry)

Sam Avanzo Windett

Deputy Director, Learning and Work Institute

Carole Willis, CEO of The National Foundation for Educational Research is an Independent observer at the board.